Disclaimer: Lying is haram. whether the one who does it is joking or is serious.

Lying in jest is haram. just like other kinds of lies.

It was narrated that Ibn ‘Umar said: “The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) said, ‘I joke, but I speak nothing but the truth.’”

(narrated by al-Tabarani in al-Mu’jam al-Kabeer, 12/391)

You can thank Sarah Palin for the geographical blooper. As far as living in a tent….I’m even asked this question!

This was my favorite! I thought the guys played along great with this and the brunette had me rofl with her “y’all” and “for real”. Where did they find her? [This was my first reaction before I put on my Islamic goggles]

I heard that some Saudis may be offended by this, I hope not, because it really showed what a great sense of humor Saudis have. Now the National Association For Dumb Blondes, may call for a boycott….lol [Again, initial thought, now that I think about it you can have a sense of humor without lying…I know people must be thinking I’m such a prude…but I like a good laugh as much as anyone else]

After posting this, I’m questioning how I can find a haram act (lying) funny. What does that say about me?

The Prophet sal Allaahu alayhi wa sallam said:

Woe to him, the person that lies to make people laugh.

O you who believe, all you people who claim to be believers, fear Allah and be with those who are truth-tellers, and be with the truthful ones.

