“Three people’s du`aa are never rejected: the one who is fasting, until he breaks his fast; the just ruler and the one who has been wronged. Allah raises it above the clouds and the doors of the skies are opened for it, and the Lord says, ‘By My Honor and Glory! I will help you, even if it be after some time!'” [Tirmidhi]

“Whoever has done any wrong to his brother, let him seek his forgiveness today, before there will be no dinar and no dirham [i.e., the Day of Resurrection], when if he has any hasanaat (good deeds), some of his hasanaat will be taken and given to the one who was wronged, and if he does not have any hasanaat, some of the sayi’aat (bad deeds) of the one who was wronged will be taken and thrown onto him, and he will be thrown into Hell,”

I interrupt my scheduled blog post to tell what is on my mind at this moment. I am in the midst of a FaceBook message discussion with a Muslim sister who wants to know why I have ignored several friendship request by her. I do not mean to put her on blast, by discussing it here, but I am really floored by her reply to my response.

If you are a long time reader of mine, then you will know how emotional I can get over the fitnah of the people who hijacked and destroyed the Salafi communities in the West and online. As I mentioned before I was an original member of one of the original Salafi online communities and friends with the owner and moderators. One day I attempted to log into the group and found out I  had been banned. I wrote the 3 moderators to see why, and I was told by one (the one who is requesting my friendship on Facebook) that they would allow me back on if I publicly freed myself of two sisters (of course that sent me on a vigilante spree). The other two mods never contacted me again and I was blocked from every-one’s emails. It has been about 6 years since this incident. I witnessed sisters distance themselves from me for fear of being boycotted. I was never told that I was “off the manhaj”, but people still were weary of me nonetheless. Two of the sisters have noticed that we are friends of friends on Facebook and have requested my friendship. I ignored them because they do not even come with a message…just a request. My page is for friends and  family and really needs to be purged of a few people who are neither. So the sister messaged me to see if I were getting the request and if  it were a reason I did not accept her friend request. I wrote her back and told her that I do not hold grudges or wish to offend her, but that this was the first time I had heard from her in 6 years after her and her mother and the other sister dissed me. She wrote back that she had no idea what I was talking about.

NO IDEA! How can you forget something like that? I suffer from undiagnosed PTSD as a result…lol! She honestly and sincerely doesn’t remember. She vaguely remembers “some fitnah” with the two sisters that she said I needed to free myself from…but nothing about me. Vaguely, remembers?!  Ask anybody! If I said their names now EVERYBODY would know who I was talking about. Those sisters reputation and honor was destroyed and it was first spread on this sister’s group. Yet, she seems foggy about the whole thing. My reputation was stained and others were left to assumptions about me! How can such a defining moment in my life, at the hands of she and the likes be water under the bridge?

I know that the mentality that caused people to treat others like I was treated has been swept under the rug. What gets me is that the wrong doers have not addressed the issue. Everyone wants to let bygones be bygones. Honestly, I’m not even mad at the sister. She’s my sister in Islam and we all make mistakes. But dang it’s the principle!

This is a matter that can not be taken lightly. Do they not realise that even though they may have forgotton how they wronged people, that they need to wake up because they need to seek the forgiveness of those they wronged.

The Prophet (sallallahu alaihe wa-sallam) said: “Do you know who is a Muflis?’ ‘A Muflis is he who comes on the Day of Judgement with Salaat, Zakaar, Siyaam Hajj but (he would find himself bankrupt on that day as he would have exhausted his funds of virtues) since he hurled abuses upon others, brought calumny against others and unlawfully consumed the wealth of others and shed the blood of others and beat others, and his virtues would be credited to the account of one (who suffered at his hand). And if his good deeds fall short to clear the account, then his sins would be entered in (his account) and he would be thrown in the Hell-Fire.” [Saheeh Muslim (6251)]

