Anger is another trap from the Shaytan to break our faith. Rasulullah (s) warned:

“Anger comes from the Shaytan; the Shaytan was created from fire, and fire is extinguished only with water; so when one of you becomes angry he should perform Wudu”

We msut be careful to control our anger and not let our anger control us.

Well I have made a public specticle of myself a few times with my blog tantrums. It’s no better in real life. While I am pleasant the majority of the times, I can when you least expect it just snap. This has been a trait since I was a child…my friends never witnessed it until college, but my mother had to deal with it. i just don’t know when to shut up. The funny thing is that I ususally do not iniaite it. It’s usually when I feel misunderstood or wronged and out of frustration I have these tantrums. Yes, this is what my husband has to deal with on a regular basis. If I am trying to get my pont acros and he just seems to refuse to hear me out or is being a real jerk…I’ll just say some of the craizest stuff you can imaigine.

The thing is I know anger is one of the evil whispers of Shaytan. I know several Cures for Anger from the Sunnah

1. To say “Audhu billahi minashaytan nirajim.” [Bukhari, Muslim]

2. If he is standing, then he should sit. If the anger fails to subside, then he should lie down. [Abu Dawood]

3. A person should remain silent. [Imam Ahmad]

4. Make wudhu. [Abu Dawood]

5. Make ghusl [Abu Nuaim]

However, that does not stop me. It’s like a battle inside of me at that time. I’m thinking, “STOP! SHUT UP! Follow the sunnah when angry”. But I CAN’T! I still continue knowing it’s wrong and AS SOON AS I HAVE ACTED A COMPLETE FOOL…I am like, “astaufirallah”

I hate that about me. I really do. So as a reminder for myself and to anyone else with anger management problems, remember that the shaytan really is our very worst enemy and here are some reminders:

“And those who suppress their anger and are forgiving to people and Allah loves the doers of good.”

Allah (SWT) has explained three qualities of His special servants in this verse;
1. They swallow their pride,
2. They forgive the mistakes of Our servants,
3. They not only forgive others who harm them, but also do acts of kindness for them. Allah loves such people.

Remember the advice of the Messenger of Allah (SAW). Abu Hurayrah (SAW) reported that a man came to the Prophet (SAW) and said: “Advise me.” He said: “Do not become angry.” The man repeated his request several times, and each time the response was, “Do not become angry.” (Bukhari)

According to another report, the man said, “I thought about what the Prophet (SAW) had said, and I realized that anger is the source of all evil.” (Ahmad).

“Do not get angry, and Paradise will be yours.” (al-Tabaraani).

Remembering what Allah (SWT) has promised to those who avoid the causes of anger and strive to control themselves is the best way to extinguish the flames of anger. The Prophet (SAW) has told us about this great reward:

“Whoever suppresses his anger at the time when he could express it openly, Allah will fill his heart with contentment on the Day of Resurrection.” (al-Tabaraani).

Another immense reward is described in the Hadith: “Whoever suppresses his anger when he is able to vent it, Allah will call him before all the people on the Day of Resurrection and let him choose whoever of the hoor al-‘iyn he wishes.” (Abu Dawood).

Knowing the high rank and distinction that is bestowed upon the one who controls himself. The Messenger of Allah (SAW) said,

“The strong man is not the one who can wrestle another to the ground; the strong man is the one who can control himself when he is angry.” (Ahmad).

The more angry a person gets, the more highly valued is his self-control. The Prophet (SAW) said:

“The real strong man is the one who gets intensely angry, so that his face reddens and his hair stands on end, but he suppresses his anger.” (Ahmad).

The Prophet (SAW) used an incident that took place in front of his Sahabah as an opportunity to reinforce this lesson. Anas (RA) reported that the Prophet (SAW) passed by some people who were wrestling, and asked, “What is this?” They told him, “So-and-so is a strong man. No one challenges him but he beats them at wrestling.” The Prophet (SAW) said,

“Shall I not tell you who is stronger than him? A man who is mistreated by another, but suppresses his anger, has defeated his own shaytan and the shaytan of the one who mistreated him.” (al-Bazzaar).

