…and requires A LOT of patience!

Honestly, I don’t know how I do it…lol! Let’s take yesterday for example. I was invited to a party and everyone was to bring a dish. I was requested to have my Ethiopian helper make an Ethiopian dish of Chicken Doro with Injira. Injira is this sour round bread with holes…looks like a flat moon. Chicken Doro is this spicy dish made of Chicken and boiled eggs. I know…who would have imagined eggs and chicken?

The injira can be bought in a store, but these stores are known only to the select (Ethiopians), so my helper called her driver and told him to pick it up and bring it to me. I had to pay him to do this and also pay for enough injirah for everyone at the party. She then made  HUGE pot of Chicken Doro in one of those Ramadan/soup kitchen pots…that every Muslim home has. She used over a dozen eggs and a whole lot of Chicken.

I told my husband the food was for the party. I was not concerned that he would eat it because we had some plain chicken for him to eat because he can’t handle spicy food. Needless to say I was quite surprised to see him eating a plate of Chicken Doti. It was plenty so I didn’t mind. So when it was time to go to the party, I noticed that ALL my eggs were gone. SOMEBODY had methodically picked through my Chicken Doti and took out all the eggs! Over a DOZEN eggs!

I questioned my husband, because I knew my precious little ones had not done it. He laughed as if it were all good and admitted that he ate them all! He even had the audacity to brag about it! He told me how he thoroughly searched for each and every egg until they were all gone. I asked him why would he do that, he knew it was for a party. He said, “They were good.”

I didn’t even bother going to the party…

So now I’m stuck with this big pot of Chicken, that I can’t even give away. I asked the sister who requested it to come and get it because she has 10 kids and they could eat it all. I warned her that the eggs were all gone. She’s a no show. I called a neighbor and asked her to come get it, again I warned her that all the eggs were gone. She’s a no show. I told my husband that what he did was the equivalent of eating all the cheese off of a pizza!

Since nobody wants it and I can’t waste it, I boiled the last 6 eggs we had in the house. 6 eggs in that big pot is like a needle in a haystack, but I wanted MY EGGS! While letting the eggs cool off before peeling them to add to my Chicken Doro, I took the baby upstairs for a nap. Quite naturally I nursed us both to sleep. When I woke up I went to the kitchen to hook up my Chicken Doro with my eggs….THEY WERE ALL GONE!!!!!!!!

I knew my husband wasn’t guilty this time, he’s not that low down. I asked my 6 year old daughter if she knew what happened to my eggs. While gleefully skipping out of the house to play, she responds, “I took them outside to share with my friends”

Anybody want some eggless Chicken Doro?

