My 6 year old daughter is home from school today. I think she has come down with a virus. She probably caught it from Adam, who has been home from school all week. She woke up at 3am vomiting. I hear her in there now, vomiting again! I hope she followed my instructions. She has vomited over 5 times and each time I find some at the entrance of the bathroom door. I told her (right before I came on here to blog her response) to try really hard to hold it in until she gets to the toilet and to aim in the toilet not around it.

“Well then how do I make the *dua?”

I’m in shock. I don’t know what to think. On one hand, I’m thinking – masha’Allah, she vomited at the entrance of the door because she refused to enter without making her dua. On the other hand, I thought it was funny. And if I had another hand I’d think it was from her ‘blond’ side of the family…really! I told her to make the dua in her head but not to open her mouth and say it. I’m on my way upstairs to check on the damage.

*Invocation for entering the restroom

“[بِسْمِ اللهِ] اللَّهُمَّ إِنِّي أَعُوذُ بِكَ مِنَ الْخُبُْثِ وَالْخَبَائِثِ”.

10. [Bismillaahi] Allaahumma ‘innee ‘a’oothu bika minal-khubthi walkhabaa’ith.

(Before entering) [In the Name of Allah] . (Then) O Allah , I seek protection in You from the male and female unclean spirits.

Reference: Al-Bukhari 1/45, Muslim 1/283. The addition of Bismillah at its beginning was reported by Said bin Mansur. See Fathul-Bari 1/244

 

*Meaning #1: (psychoanalysis) a personality characterized by meticulous neatness and suspicion and reserve; formed in early childhood by fixation during the anal stage of development (as a consequence of toilet training)
  Synonym:
anal retentive personality


