Now this is no religious verdict or a call for people to reject polygyny. It’s just that in the past I actually had this secret desire for my husband to find the PERFECT other wife/wives. It was mostly when my oldest-extremely outgoing-easily bored-needs lot of attention child, was younger. I envisioned me and my co-wives helping each other out (O.K her helping me out) with the children and even nursing the other’s child.

 

Now that my children are older, my husband and I are older, and I can’t have anymore children – I’VE CHANGED MY MIND! There are so many things that I am looking forward to doing, insha’Allah. Once Sugar Ray is in school, I’ll have my mornings free to do whatever I want, insha’Allah. I can sleep in, take classes, self study, hang out in the mall, attend bunches and coffee mornings, or get a job – insha’Allah. If my husband takes another wife that will be a huge inconvenience for me and impose on my new found freedom. My kids will be older and will have more activities for him to chauffeur them be to be involved in.

As much as I’d like to say that it is his love and devotion to me that has kept me flying solo with him – it’s really his bank account. Recently, I was introduced to this get rich quick scheme business opportunity and I am trying to convince him to give it a try…maybe I should just be happy that he’s broke.

