Umar Lee has posted a Working Class Muslim Family Series. I read Part 4 “Hijrah” just now and there was one part that struck me hard.

If brothers in Muslim countries only knew how badly many American-Muslims just wanted to live in a Muslim land where they would not be given strange looks, where their wives could cover freely and be given their rights, where the kids could be inculcated into the culture of Islam, where if you die you will get a  proper Muslim burial [Note from Umm Adam: A major reason in my decision to not travel outside of the Muslim lands.  I have this fear of dying and not only not getting the virtues of dying as a  muhaajir but possibly being buried incorrectly wa authoo billahi min thaliq], where you don’t have to worry about food being haram, and where you hear the adhan 5 times a day, if brothers in Muslim countries only knew how badly your heart yearend for Dar al Islam then you would think they would be helping working-class Muslims resettle in Muslim lands for the sake of their children.

Yet, with very limited exceptions, there are normally not wide open arms at the other end welcoming the American brothers and sisters. Instead, we face bureaucratic and visa nightmares fro “Muslim” governments and hostility from Muslims in Muslim lands and often return home and are harassed by the fed’s because we are seeking to grow closer to Allah. As we go closer to Allah American law-enforcement will try to stand in between us and the One who created both of us; but as the old Christian saying goes “you demons get behind me”.

This is something that pains me and causes me to often stay up at night praying that Allah facilitate a way for all the Muslims who desire hijrah for His sake. This is also another reason I am so disturbed when I read the rants and raves of Muslims and non-Muslims who live in Saudi for reasons other than the sake of Allah. I have brothers and sisters in Islam – all over Allah’s vast world who would love to take their place and live in this land for the reasons that Umar pointed out. Then you have people here trying to rip the Islam out of here, people who hate that this is an Islamic societyand call for the Islam to be limited in both school and in the open, people who would love for Saudi to be secular, who mock Islam, and want the Muslims to be more progressive to the point that Islam is something vague. I get angry and frustrated that they have come to this land only to disparage it. It makes me sad that the Muslims must rely on non-Muslims to build and develope their country. It makes me sadder that the Muslims are not qualified to do this. It sickens me that people can come and live off of the wealth of this land and have such hatred for it in their hearts.

I think the essence was summed up good on a MuslimMatters.org Post about varying perspectives:

… there is no denying the problems & negative aspects of this country. Every single complaint they have is valid to varying degrees. There is increasing social immorality, lessening of (apparent) Islamic spirit, rising materialism, government policies amounting to discrimination, endless red tape, economic inflation & lack of structured support system for new immigrants.

The Muslim world is not perfect. Period. But the positives more than balance them out: Muslims are a majority (even if all of them may not be practicing); you hear the azaan fives times a day; you can never miss a prayer for a lack of masjid; hijabis & ‘beardies’ are a norm & do not stick out as on the street; halal food in all eateries & markets; easy access & wide choice for children’s secular & Islamic education; tax-free incomes; Islamic financing; personal safety & security etc.

Therefore, perhaps, if the attitude is right our lens will magnify all that is good, & coupled with the determination & strength to face what may come, it could be a win-win situation, inshaAllah. That Islam extols hijrah is not unknown.

When I was in America there were many things that I did not agree with. I never sat around pointing out every flaw or problem that I had. When I made the decision to make Hijrah, I didn’t give a laundry list of negative reasons why I didn’t want to remain in America. Rather, I simply said I am leaving for the sake of Allah and I named the positive reasons for doing so. When I speak of hopefully never returning to America, it is not with hatred for America that I speak, it is with love for doing what I think is pleasing to Allah. There was no reason for me to smear, degrade, or slight America…not when Allah says in The Noble Qur’an – An-Nisa 4:97-98

Verily! As for those whom the angels take (in death) while they are wronging themselves (as they stayed among the disbelievers even though emigration was obligatory for them), they (angels) say (to them): “In what (condition) were you?” They reply: “We were weak and oppressed on earth.” They (angels) say: “Was not the earth of Allâh spacious enough for you to emigrate therein?” Such men will find their abode in Hell – What an evil destination!

Except the weak ones among men, women and children who cannot devise a plan, nor are they able to direct their way.

I made my intention for Hijrah, asked Allah for it, and got out of dodge. I often ask myself the same thing about those who live in Saudi but find it stifling and oppressive, “Was not the earth of Allâh spacious enough for you to emigrate therein?”

Leave! Get out! Be gone!

