On the authority of Abu Hurairah
(radiAllaahu ‘anhu) who said :
The Messenger of Allaah (sallAllaahu ‘alayhi wa sallam) said :
Verily Allaah ta’aalaa has said :
Whosoever shows enmity to a walee (friend) of Mine, then I have declared war against him. And My servant does not draw near to Me with anything more loved to Me than the religious duties I have obligated upon him. And My servant continues to draw near to me with nawaafil (supererogatory) deeds until I Love him.

When I Love him, I am his hearing with which he hears, and his sight with which he sees, and his hand with which he strikes, and his foot with which he walks. Were he to ask [something] of Me, I would surely give it to him; and were he to seek refuge with Me, I would surely grant him refuge.

It was related by al-Bukhaaree

Two things come to my mind when I read this.

1. Only a few will attain the love of Allah. Hence, The tragic Christian theology of ‘God is love’ is fallible. Not everyone is loved by God accept those deserving of His love.

and

2. How do we know if Allah loves us?

I read a Christian website that was trying to explain God’s unconditional love for mankind.

A relationship with God is like no other relationship you may have experienced. God has a unique kind of love for you. It is unconditional (not based upon meeting certain conditions). God loves you because He loves you.

“In this the love of God was made manifest among us, that God sent his only Son into the world, so that we might live through him. In this is love, not that we loved God but that he loved us…” (1John 4:9,10)

He does not love you based upon your performance. There is nothing you can do to cause God to love you any more than He already does—and there is nothing that will cause God to love you any less. He loves you, even more than you love yourself.

Until now you have probably only experience conditional love. It’s expressed in sentiments such as, “I’ll love you for as long as you love me” or, “You’ll always be my first love, unless I meet someone better for me.” Conditional love is based upon what you do. Perform well on the job, on the team, or in the relationship, and you are “loved.”

http://www.startingwithgod.com/articles/Godslove.htm

I think this is twisted and should be the other way around. Our love for God should be true love and true love is expressed by drawing nearer to Him -the Most High – through optional deeds, after fulfilling the obligatory duties. Nothing we can do to cause God to love us more? Nothing! Nothing we can do to cause God to love us less? Nothing! So then a devil worshipping murderer is equally loved by God as a devoted servant of His?

This is typical of the way many Christians think. However, this explanation contradicts the biblical verse he later quoted.

Jesus describes the depth of His love for us, “As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love. If you obey my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have obeyed my Father’s commands and remain in his love. I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete” (John 15:9-11). He loves us no matter what—even when we disobey. But we will live in His love, enjoy His love, as we obey Him.

This verse to me shows that God’s Love does have conditions and that only a few will attain His Love.
How can he even say that God loves us no matter what, yet the verse he quoted says otherwise? “If you obey my commands, you will remain in my love…” Obeying God’s command is the condition. This is confirmed in The Quran. In Surah Maryam, Allah (سبحانه وتعالى) says:

إِنَّ الَّذِينَ آمَنُوا وَعَمِلُوا الصَّالِحَاتِ سَيَجْعَلُ لَهُمُ الرَّحْمَنُ وُدًّا
Translation: On those who believe and work deeds of righteousness, (Allah) The Most Gracious bestows love. (Surah Maryam, verse 96)1

It is true, one of Allah’s attributes is that He is Al-Wudood (The Most Loving). However, does that mean that Allah loves all of mankind unconditionally? Why should He? Shouldn’t the beloved of Allah be those whose hearts are always drawn to Him in love, sincerity and repentance?
“And ask forgiveness from your Lord and turn to Him in repentance. Verily my Lord is the Most Merciful, the Loving.” (11:90)
“And He is Oft-Forgiving, the Loving.” (85:14)

His Mercy is open to everyone, providing you fulfil your duties and keep away from what He has forbidden.

So the question remains, are you among those whose deeds are accepted by Allah, and how can we tell if He does?

If you reread the hadeeth qudsi in Saheeh ul-Bukhaari which I posted in the beginning of this entry, it explains how a person can tell if they have attained the Pleasure and Love of Almighty God.

So dear brothers and sisters, let us discuss what these things are. How can we be loved by Allah? What does Allah mean when he says in the Hadith Qudsi, “…When I Love him, I am his hearing with which he hears, and his sight with which he sees, and his hand with which he strikes, and his foot with which he walks…”?

A reminder that we are in the first ten days of dhul hijjah. Do to the virtues in these ten days we should take advantage of this and draw closer to Allah striving to be among His beloved.

Ibn Abbaas, may Allah be pleased with him, reported that the Prophet (sallallaahu alaihi wa sallam) said: There are no days during which good deeds are more beloved to Allah than these days; meaning the first ten days of Dhul-Hijjah. They inquired: Not even Jihad in the cause of Allah? He said: Not even Jihad in the cause of Allah, unless one goes out for Jihad sacrificing both his life and property and returning with neither. (Al-Bukhaari)

