…but this is!

I am officially a WOMAN! For the first time in my 30 Sumin years, I made a Turkey (all by myself), home made Mac n Cheeses (I usually do Kraft Deluxe), and a Green Bean Casserole.

Do y’all see those BONES?! I was so afraid nobody would eat my Turkey. I had mostly Americans there, and you know how we can be, if the Turkey ain’t like how Big Mama use to make it. They tore that sucker up! Masha’Allah – and if I may say so myself – that Turkey was GOOOOD! Alhamduillah.

Which brings me to this. Check out these pictures of Ramadan around the world. Pay close attention to picture 22. What in the world was that?!

On another note – Carol – The American Bedouin, did a post today about being caught in between two cultures. I prepared a comment, but then I talked so much about my family that I thought I should put it on my blog, so that I did not come off completely narcissistic! My comments are in response to statements the Saudi man she interviewed made:

“but no nation is free from a history of absurdity at one point or another. It is important to be more aware of one’s own history before passing judgment on others.”

So true. My mother was born in Little Rock Arkansas. When she was a little girl she knew a black boy who worked for a white family. One day he was washing the clothes by hand and some of the woman’s underwear were in there. He was beaten and I can’t recall if he died for this.

 
“Can you see yourself more easily with a Saudi wife or a foreign wife?”

This is something I often think of in regards to my children. My children are not actually caught in between two cultures. They have been here all of their young lives and really have not been exposed to main stream American culture. Even today I had a potluck Turkey with all the fixings dinner and my oldest daughter asked if she had ever had Turkey before. I explained to her that we eat it in America but I left out the holiday suggestions (and we certainly were not trying to mix two cultures as seen in Picture 22in the Ramadan around the world link!).  Even so, in Saudi, we teach our children  not to pick up on their cultural ways unless it is something good (hospitality, graciousness, etc.) but to leave off all else and to follow Islam with out any cultural influences.

I agree with him when he said,

“I would just like to say that being of mixed culture is not inherently of itself positive or negative. But it can be interpreted by the person in both ways producing a sense of loneliness and alienation.”

My kids don’t really fit in anywhere. Now that we live in a bigger city and since it is Ramadan then they have been around more American children raised in Saudi. However, my children are biracial and that has made some awkward moments. Where we lived before, my closest friends were white American women married to Saudis. Now I have more of a mix of American families. They are mostly black couples and a few ‘Ethnic Americans’ with white American husbands. I think those children may know not to make comments about race, but my children in their innocence have made comments to other black children that made the children feel I should be told. Nothing bad, recently we were over a friends house and my youngest  daughter asked where they were from. When they told her they were American, she told them that only white people were American. This may have offended them and they told on her.

So maybe my children are not caught in between two cultures, but there are definitely some issues.

