It is now time to step up our Ramadan programs. We are now approaching the last 10 nights of Ramadan. What’s so special about that you ask?

Laylatul Qadr (the Night of Power) is described in the Quran as, “better than a thousand months” (97:3). Any action done on this night is better than acting for one thousand months which do not contain the night of Qadr.

Aisha, may Allah be pleased with her, related that the Prophet said: Look for Laylatul Qadr on an odd-numbered night during the last ten nights of Ramadan (Bukhari).

Abu Huraira narrated that the Messenger said: Whoever stands (in prayer) in Laylatul Qadr while nourishing his faith with self-evaluation, expecting reward from Allah, will have all of his previous sins forgiven. [Bukhari and Muslim).

Abu Huraira, may Allah be pleased with him, related that the Prophet said: When the last one-third of the night remains, our Lord, the Glorious One descends towards the heaven of the earth and proclaims: Who is that who supplicates for Me, and I grant his supplication? Who is that who begs Me for anything and I grant it to him? And who is that who seeks My forgiveness, and I forgive him? (Bukhari, Muslim).

In other words, if you have found yourself slacking off these first 20 days, this should be your motivation to revive yourself and get it together. This is an opportunity that you do not want to neglect.

I found a blog entry that broke down everything you need to know about this night and at the same time kept my attention. An excellent read that you do not want to miss.

Also, enjoy hearing this Surah about the Night of Power recited by my favorite Qari Imam Abdur Rahman Sudais.

 

Don’t forget this dua”

 “Allahumma innaka `afuwwun tuhibbul `afwa fa`fu `annee”

Aisha, may Allah be pleased with her, said: I asked the Messenger of Allah: ‘O Messenger of Allah, if I know what night is the night of Qadr, what should I say during it?’ He said: ‘Say: O Allah, You are pardoning and You love to pardon, so pardon me.’ (Ahmad, Ibn Majah, and Tirmidhi).

