Our gas is out. Apparantly it’s the whole housing area of our community. Lots of hungry people tonight. Alhamduillah, we won’t starve. We have salad and leftover soup. Todays sweets were prepared first. I will admit that I am embarrassed to say that I am disappointed for lack of a better word. I really am ashamed to say that. I don’t want to be ungrateful, because it still is alot…but I hadn’t planned on eating the sweets today…now I think I have too! I am ashamed because fasting teaches us to sympathize with the poor and the needy, it also teaches us to be grateful for all the blessings of the Almighty we enjoy. So, I actually feel somewhat happy that I am being tested like this, but at the same time a little disappointed in myself for being picky about having enough to eat and satisfy the pangs of hunger.

The Quran says:

And whoever is grateful, he is grateful for his own soul, and whoever is ungrateful, then surely My Lord is Self-sufficient, Honored. (27:40)

Nay! But serve Allah alone, and be among the thankful ones. (39:66)

Subhanallah! Walhamduillah! I have been informed that the gas problem is solved. I still have 30 minutes to breakfast,  which gives us just enough time to fry the sambosa! Masha’Allah!

“Be sure we shall test you with something of fear and hunger, some loss in goods or lives or the fruits (of your toil), but give glad tidings to those who patiently persevere,” (Quran 2:155)

* I’m updating this less than a minute after I sent it to say that a nice HOT pizza was just delivered to my door from one of my neighbors. The ovens worked but the stove top didn’t….AND SHE THOUGHT OF MY FAMILY!!!! May Allah reward her…aameen!!!

