Subhanallah – this past week has been a test. In hindsight it was not that big of a test compared to other test that I have had and compared to other’s lives. This week we had a yucky stomach virus in our house. No need to go into detail, as we all know what stomach viruses entail. After Allah relieved me of my virus I was then hit with a 72 hour migraine. It was so bad at one point I honestly thought death would be better. Be it as it may, I did not supplicate for death. If it were not for my children I probably would have. Instead I asked Allah for good health and to not make my children orphaned by the lost of either parent and to use my ailments as a purification and expiation of my sins.

I woke this morning with a clear head, alhamduillah. For those of you who do not suffer from chronic migraines (my husband can not recall EVER having a headache….masha’Allah), you will not believe how something as mundane as a clear head can feel. I was so thankful and grateful to Allah and immediately pondered some of the things He promised us in His Book. In the Quran, Allah comforts us by continuously reassuring us that He desires for us ease not hardship, despite the seemingly formidable trials and tribulations that we may sometimes face. He says:

‘God desires ease for you, and desires not hardship’ (2:185);
‘Truly with hardship comes ease’ (94: 6);
‘God will assuredly appoint, after difficulty; easiness’ (65:7);
‘Whoso fears God, God will appoint for him, of His command, easiness’ (65:4);
‘We shall speak to him, of our command, easiness’ (18:88);
‘God desires to lighten things for you, for the human being has been created weak’ (94:28).

God has created the world to test mankind. God, the Merciful, Compassionate and Just, creates ease in everything and tests people within the limits of their strength. Believers should never fail to evaluate things in the light of the Quran. How many times have we felt that life is unfair, or that we just can’t take it anymore? I know that after I delivered my first daughter via cesarean, I couldn’t imagine intentionally putting myself through that again! Well, I did! Three more times to be exact and each time Allah made it easier than the time before.

Allah informs us in the above verses, no matter what sort of adversity a person experiences or how a situation is overcome, Allah creates a path that will lead to a way out and gives relief to believers. Indeed, a believer will witness that Allah grants ease along with all hardships if he remains steadfast in his patience. In other verses, Allah has given the good news of guidance and blessings to His servants who have fear for Him:

… Whoever has fear of God – He will give him a way out and provide for him from where he does not expect. Whoever puts his trust in God – He will be enough for him… (Surat at-Talaq: 2-3)

Alhamduillah, today has been as perfect a day as it could be. I have my health, shelter, clothes on my back, food to break my fast, a husband who strives to please his Lord in all that he does, children who amaze me with their understanding of worshipping their Lord, and just really nothing to complain about at all! Let us never forget that Allah does not place a burden greater than one can bear. I’m sure we can all testify to that.

I end this reflection by asking and begging Allah to give me the guidance and ability to act upon every single aspect of Islam, the perfect way of life. Aameen

“But those who disbelieved (in the Oneness of Allāh (Islamic Monotheism) and denied Our Ayāt (proofs, evidences, verses, lessons, signs, revelations, etc.), they will be the dwellers of the Fire, to dwell therein forever. And worst indeed is that destination.” [Sūrah al-Taghābun (64): 10]

