Okay, Cousin Holly has called me from out of the wood works. Sistah gurl can’t even get a lil blog break (and Holly weren’t you just on a lil sabbatical yourself? 🙂 ) Contrary to what it may have seemed after my earlier bout of blogaria, I do have other things to do…lol! Last semester my children and I had over six weeks of vacation time ( 2 weeks off at the end of Ramadan, another 2 weeks for eidul adha, then 2 weeks for something else, and finally 3 weeks out because kids 4th grade and over had exams). Truth be told I was going crazy in the the house with no schedule. Hence, I blogged. Right now I am not blogstipated, actually I have a whole bunch to blog about but I have been busy and honestly not in the mood. I don’t even really get online much anymore.

Okay, spill it, ya say? What has been going on in my life?Hmmm where do I start?

I’m teaching spoken English in my home. I dreaded the idea at first because, I did not get the response I wanted for the classes I was offering (and I thought it was more important for me to study Arabic in my nonexistant freerime than teach English. Not too mention I was trying to save the women and children from the corruption that usually follows one who wants to know English). I offered to do a preschool/kg 5 days a week in the morning and a weekend program for girls 6-8 years old (programs that would benefit both my daughters). The response was terrible and most of my calls came from people wanting me to teach their grown sons (NOT!) and from bored housewives who want to chill with me. So now I am chilling in the evenings with 8 bored housewives. The first week I wanted to return their money but I had already spent it…rofl! However, things are better now and I am having fun with them. The class is suppose to be for two hours but of course most come late and the last 30 minutes is a party because these women come with the works!

The first week I provided drinks and lite snacks but they have taken over. So I decided to incorporate their lesson with their social time. I put out a vegetable tray with dip today, hoping I could get a lesson in on the names of the various vegetables and I also made them give me their recipes in ENGLISH! We’ll swap recipes once a week insha’Allah. 

The first week I was bored and so were they because I was just sticking to the lessons because I really did not want to do adults. I wanted to teach kids through play (OK I wanted my daughters to have some kids to play with…lol). This week I have spiced things up and they love it and as a result I can actually see some improvement in both their effort and achievement.

Every Tuesday will be ‘Tuesday talk Show’ day, insha’Allah. I explained to them that one student will play the hostess, two will be our experts or guest, and the rest will be audience members who will ask the questions . Their English is zero but they can read so I wrote the script for this weeks show, wrote the audience questions on the white board, and gave the ‘experts’ the answers on cue cards (just like Oprah) and I was this week’s hostess, so that I could show them what to do.

Here’s today’s script (some parts adapted by an Aqeedah lesson for kids by Brother Moosa Richardson):

As Salaamu Alaykum wa Rahmatullahi wa Barakatahu 

In The Name of Allah The Merciful The Compassionate, may His Peace and Blessings be upon His final Messenger to all mankind. 

Welcome to The Sister 2 Sister Talk Show!A Talk show for sisters, by sisters, and about sisters!I am your hostess Sister IntisarToday’s topic is about Allah – The Lord of the ‘Alamin (mankind, jinn and all that exists).Joining us in our discussion today, is Sister Aziza and Sister Eemaan. 

*Sister Aziza is from Madinah Saudi
Arabia, the mother of four (4) and an art teacher, currently living in near ____ in the The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Please welcome Sister Azizah to our show, but please no clapping. It is not from the sunnah (audience should give salaam and Sister Azizah should respond).
 

*Also joining us is Sister Eemaan. She is from
Riyadh, is the mother of two (4) and studied Arabic in college. She also resides near ____. Let us give a warm welcome to our beloved guest!

Do you know who Allah is?

Allah is our Lord.

He made all the people.

He made all the trees, rivers, and mountains.

He made the sky, the sun, the moon, and the stars.

He made all the animals, even the tiny little flies.

Allah made everything.

Audience question: Hi my name is ______ and I would like to know, is anyone like Allah?

I will let Sister Eemaan answer this question …

[Eemaan answers]

Masha’Allah, Thank you Sister Eemaan! That was a very good answer

Audience question: Hello my name is ______, does Allah know everything?

Sister Azizah, please answer this good question….

[Azizah answers] 

Masha’Allah, excellent Sister Azizah. Allahu Akbar!

Audience question? My name is ____ and I am from _____ what does Allahu Akbar mean?

Allahu Akbar is one of the Beautiful names of Allah (Husnal Asma wa Siffat). In Sahih Al-Bukhari, Abu Hurairah narrated: Allah has ninety-nine (99) Names (one 100 minus one) and whoever believes in their meanings and acts accordingly, will enter
Paradise, and Allah is Witr (One) and loves the Witr.

Sisters can you please tell us more of Allah’s Beautiful Names and Attributes?

[Both Sisters give examples (Eemaan first)….]

Audience question: Does Allah give us anything?

[Both Sisters take turns answering this question (Azizah first)….]

All praise is due to Allah for guiding us to Islam! Our time is out for today’s show and don’t forget if anyone ask you, “Who is your Lord?” You say: [point to audience and they say] “My Lord is Allah!” Please come back next week, when we will discuss The Last Messenger and seal of all Prophets – Muhammad (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him).

Subhanaka Allahumma wa bihamdika Ashahadu an la illahi anta wastafiruka wa atobo ilayk

