Yup Yup, after much deliberation, I’ve finally taken the plunge! I’m now a Blogger. Yaa Rabb, what did I get myself into? Honestly, when I first discovered blogs, I thought they and the people who did them were wacky and that it was irrelevant speech. Allah Most High has said: Successful are the believers, who are humble in their prayers, and who turn away from pointless talk, [23:1-3] Pointless talk [laghw] is speech which is futile and irrelevant, and bears no relation to any true purpose. It brings no benefit to the one who utters it, and may well bring him misfortune instead -Imam al-Bayhaqi, The Seventy-Seven Branches of Faith.

Over the past few months I’ve grown quite fond of blogs (those with some benefit). They keep me up to date in the real world, with real uncensored views, by real people. The past few years I had become more and more alienated from the people, so much so that I really was clueless as to what was going on in the world around me. I was happy about that and considered it a virtue of pious living. Recently my little bubble has burst and I realise that I do need an outlet and insha’Allah this blog is a good opportunity for me to remain somewhat sheltered, yet gives me a voice that I was starting to forget what it sound like.

I honestly feel like a stranger in this world. As indicated in my tag-line, I am an African American Muslim (not exactly a convert but a 2nd generation Muslim from a family who came to Islam thru the NOI…so maybe I really am a convert but always thought I was a Muslim. May Allah guide them and us all), living in a Muslim Country, and to top it off I am in an inter racial marriage (Yes I know Allah created us to know one another, but still it can add to my feelings of strangeness at times). Verily, this is indeed a strange predicament.

“Many times in many situations the people that follow the religion of Allâh feel a sense of not belonging, of being out of place, of not fitting in, and, in other words, of being strange. This feeling could occur in a gathering of non-Muslims, but, unfortunately, this feeling sometimes also occurs when one is with his fellow Muslims.” Strangeness and the Strangers,Imâm Ibn Qayyim al Jawziyyah

I do not call myself a Stranger, in a self praising way. Rather it is actually a lonely type of existence that I stumbled into and I pray that Allah is pleased with me and counts me along with those who are granted toobah.

“The third category of strangeness is, in essence, neither praiseworthy or blameworthy. It is the strangeness that a traveler experiences when he travels to a different country, like a person who lives in a place for a short period of time, knowing that he has to move on. One aspect of this strangeness is that all of us, whether we realize it or not, are strangers in this world, for we will all go one day to our permanent abode in the Hereafter. This is the meaning of the hadîth of the Prophet (peace be upon him) when he told Abdullah ibn Umar, “Live in this world as though you are a stranger or a wayfarer.” Thus, this category of strangeness has the potential to become a praiseworthy strangeness if we realize the meaning of this statement of Allâh’s Messenger (peace be upon him). ” Strangeness and the Strangers,Imâm Ibn Qayyim al Jawziyyah

With that said, I am still wary of blogging and blogs in general. every word we utter gets recorded and we may have to answer it in the hereafter, how much more so for every word we blog?

Therefore, my first post will, insha’Allah, serve as a post of my intention, a reminder for us all to turn away from pointless talk, and a call for naseehah if anyone sees transgression on my part. The prophet Muhammad (s.a.w.) said, “Majority of a person’s sins emanate from his tongue.” (and the pen or writing is regarded as “tongue”).

So this is my blog, my thoughts, my ramblings. Insha’Allah, I’ll try to avoid venting, because I do enjoy taking my complaints and grief to Allah alone, this is one of the best benefits in my opinion of living in this life as a stranger, you have nobody else to turn to except your Lord. As indicated in my title, this is a soliloquy. I still hope others can benefit from it and comments are more than welcomed.

We do pray to Allah T’ala for forgiveness of our sins, open or secret, intentional or unintentional, past, present or future. And we seek His Mercy for His forgiveness and release from Hellfire. Ameen.

